Picture it

“Close your eyes and picture the happiest thing you can imagine,” Melanie said from outside of Harry’s study.

Harry closed his eyes and spun his computer chair so that he was facing the door. A million different images flashed through his mind as he tried to find the one thing that would make him happiest in the world. There was a meadow of bounding energetic puppies, a cuddle session with a litter of kittens, a mountain of cash, skiing in waist deep powder snow, getting promoted to CEO, and of course there was Melanie.

He settled on the image of her beautiful, smiling face ringed by shoulder length brown curls. Her prominent dimples and striking sky blue eyes. But more than her looks it was her razor sharp mind that challenged him at every moment of every day that made him the happiest. He doubted that there was another person on Earth with more in common with him. He loved everything she said, did and was. Nothing in the world could possibly make him happier than she had already made him.

“I’ve got it,” he reported, squinting his eyes to try and peer through his eyelids but saw only a blurry yellow object.

“Don’t even think about it, Mister,” Melanie barked playfully and threw something soft at Harry that hit his leg and bounced away. “No peeking.”

Harry positioned his hand over his eyes and said, “I promise.”

“What are you imagining?” Melanie asked.

“I’ll tell you after I know what the surprise is if it doesn’t live up to expectations.”

“No, tell me.”

“Fine, I’m picturing that Pokemon is real and I’ve just been asked by Professor Oak to complete the Pokedex.”

“Damn that’s actually really good. But no, it’s not that and I know that’s not what you’re picturing.”

“Alright, smarty pants. What is the happiest thing I can imagine.”

“You’re thinking about me,” she said smugly and Harry could hear the pleasure in her voice.

“Pssh you wish,” Harry retorted. “It’s the Pokemon thing for sure.”

“You can’t lie to me. I can see it on your flushed cheeks that you love me,” she said, dragging out love to almost a full breath.

“Whatever. Shut up. Are you going to show me what is actually going to make me happy or do I have to sit here with my eyes closed all night?”

“You can open them whenever you’re ready.”

Harry tentatively moved his hand away from his face and opened his eyes incredibly slowly. The yellow blob in the doorway slowly resolved itself and his jaw fell open.

“Pika,” Melanie said, cocking her head to the side.

She was wearing a Pikachu onesie with the zip undone from her neck to her navel. It left nothing to the imagination and was better than anything he could have imagined. It certainly made him happier than real Pokemon could.

“Pika Pika,” he said and launched himself at her.

Leave a Reply

